State Vesak Festival under President’s patronage

State Vesak Festival under President’s patronage

President Maithripala Sirisena says, in this Vesak season, everybody should determine to move forward as citizens in Sri Lanka where altruism exists instead of egoism.

The President was speaking at the ceremony of International Day of Vesak – 2017, today (May 09) at the Vattarama Arahaththa Maliyadewa Temple in Kegalle.

He pointed out that the healthy relationship between parents and children in this current society is declining. “As citizens of the Buddhist country, we should examine the reasons caused to create such a decline”, he said.

The President stated that the government has provided large number of grants during last two years to repair the defects of the temples and develop the temples. He said the government fulfilled the requirements of the Buddhist monks. “In the future, the government will release those funds fairly among temples, changing the policy to provide large grants only to selected temples”, he said.

Minister of Posts A. H. M. Halim presented the souvenir stamp issued for the celebration of the International Day of Vesak, to the President.

The President also was presented the “Kegalu Varuna” Vesak magazine by the District Secretary of Kegalle J. M. G. Chandrasiri.

A CD on the programs held in Kegalle District in line with the International Day of Vesak was presented to the President by Commissioner General of Buddhist Affairs Nimal Kotawala.

President Sirisena presented cheques to six Dhamma schools symbolizing the donation to be provided to the Dhamma schools in Kegalle District.

Mahanayaka Thero of the Asgiriya chapter of Siam Nikaya, Ven Warakagoda Sri Gnanarathana Thero, Anu Nayaka Thero of Maha Vihara Vanshika Shyampali Maha Nikaya Malwatta Capter, Ven Niyangoda Sri Vijithasiri Thero, Secretary of the Samastha Lanka Shasanarakshaka Bala Mandalaya, Ven Gonaduwe Gunananda Nayaka Thero, chief Incumbent of the Raja Maha temples in Vattarama, Galmaduwa and Thalava, Ven. Gammulle Sri Sumangala Nayaka Thero, Speaker Karu Jayasuriya, Ministers Wijayadasa Rajapaksha, Kabir Hashim, Ranjith Siyambalapitiya, Daya Gamage, Deputy Minister Dushmantha Mithrapala and the Secretary to the Ministry of Buddha Shasana Chandrapema Gamage also participated in this event.

Share This Post