National Honours Ceremony 2019 held under the patronage of President

National Honours Ceremony 2019 held under the patronage of President

The investiture ceremony of “National Honours 2019” to honour and felicitate the distinguished personalities who have rendered outstanding and invaluable services to the Motherland was held at BMICH today (20).

These national honours will accolade the reputable Sri Lankans for their contribution to lift up the pride of the nation and as well as to preserve its esteem and to recognize their dedication towards the progress of the Motherland.

President Sirisena conferred these distinctive awards on 70 outstanding personalities to applause the personal contribution of made by them in different spheres.

The Japanese peace envoy Yasushi Akashi was presented with the Sri Lanka Rathna, the first-ever highest national honour conferred on non-nationals in order to recognize his distinguished and exceptional service rendered towards the nation.

Six personalities were presented with Deshamanya awards in recognition of their exceptional and highly meritorious service to the nation including Ajita de Zoysa, Dr. Indrajit Coomaraswamy, Merrill Joseph Fernando, Moragodage Christopher Walter Pinto, Prof. Mohan Munasinghe and Dr Surath Wickramasinghe.  

In addition to these awards 10 Deshabandu awards, 06 Vidya Jyothi awards, 09 Kala Keerthi awards, 08 Lanka Shikamanee awards, 03 Vidya Nidhi awards, 11 Kalashoori awards, 11 Sri Lankathilaka awards, 02 Veeraprathapa awards and 03 Sri Lanka Ranjana awards were presented by the President.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya, Members of the Parliament Nimal Siripala de Silva, Thilanga Sumathipala, Vasudeva Nanayakkara and Secretary to the President Udaya R. Seneviratne, Secretary to the Ministry of Public Administration J.J. Rathnasiri, Secretary to the Ministry of Special Area Development, R. Nadarasapillai, Senior Additional Secretary, Esala Weerakoon, public servants and many others participated on this occasion.



Share This Post