Parliament elects new Speaker 

Karu_JayasuriyaThe United National Party (UNP)  MP Karu Jayasuriya has been unanimously elected as the Speaker of  the 8th Parliament of Sri Lanka.

The newly elected Parliament convened today with the first order of the day being the appointment of the Speaker.

His name was proposed by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremasinghe and seconded by former opposition leader Nimal Siripala De Silva.

The First Session of the Parliament inaugurated today at 09.00 a.m.

President Maithripala Sirisena is due to present the Statement of Government Policy at the ceremonial sitting of the First Session of Parliament at 3.00 p.m. today.

UPFA MP Thilanga Sumathipala was appointed unanimously as the Deputy Speaker of the Eighth Parliament.

Also, UNP MP Lakshman Kiriella has been appointed as the Leader of the House. Gayantha Karunatillake MP has been appointed as the Government Chief Whip.

Meanwhile, Selvam Adaikkalanathan of TNA, an MP from Vanni District, was appointed Deputy Chairman of Committees.


Share This Post