President applauses international award-winning artists

President applauses international award-winning artists

The Sri Lankan artists who were awarded at international film and television festivals were appreciated by the President Maithripala Sirisena along with handsome prizes at the President’s Office yesterday.

Artists Neeta Fernando, Nilmini Sigera, Kumara Karawdeniya, Shiran Rathnayake, Ranga Bandaranayake, Athula Pieris, Nishadi Bandaranayake who’s talents were recognized at the Nice International Film Festival in France, Osaka Asian Film Festival in Japan and Moscow International Film Festival including awarded for their respective achievements by the President.  

In addition, the President unveiled a statue of Ediriweera Sarachchardra to mark the  Golden Jubilee of  the 1965 batch of University of Peradeniya.  Member of Academic Association of Faculty of Arts, University of Peradeniya;  R.M. Karunarathna, Shanthi Warnasuriya, Shantha Kakulawala, Jinith De silva and D.S Edirisinghe and several other distinguished guests were also present at the occasion.

The cash prizes were also handed over by the President, to Priyanthi Samaraweera, Milroi Jayamanna, and Basnayake who will participate in Gymnastic World Championships organized by International Gymnastics Federation. (FIG)

President  also made a cash donation to Sri Lankan Police Cricket Team who will participate in the International Police Cricket Festival 2019 in  the United Kingdom in August.

Share This Post